Pastures new – and snowy

map of antarctica

map of antarctica

Well they say a change is as good as a rest. So I’m off to Antarctica for 18 months!! It will definitely be a change though I’m pretty sure there wont be much resting.

I shall be working as a field assistant for British Antarctic Survey. The primary part of my role is to facilitate the scientists in carrying out their investigations. As such we will spend lots of time out on the ice travelling by skidoo and on foot over glaciated terrain. Living in 2 man pyramid tents and trying not to fall down too many crevasses.

I shall be keeping you informed of my adventures while I am away and will be happy to answer any questions folk may have about life in Antarctica.

Fact No. 1. Did you know Antarctica is a desert? Not only is it the coldest continent on earth it is also the driest.

pyramid tents out on the ice

pyramid tents out on the ice

